To brake or not to brake....that is the question?

I’m ready to buy my first expensive unicycle and can’t decide about spending the extra money on one with a brake. My dream is to ride easy off road bike trails nothing too crazy.
It’s between Nimbus 26" Mountain or Oracle 26". $280 difference.
How do I know if I’ll really need it? :thinking:

I own the 26" Oracle. I live in a very hilly part of Southern California, and I use the brake a lot. When I first bought the Oracle, I was a relative beginner, and I was just learning how to put one hand on the seat handle. The brake lever behaved like an instant UPD lever. I spent a lot of time practicing using the brake. Then I added handlebars, and that improved ergonomics of the brake. Learning to use the brake is a challenge, just like learning to unicycle. If you get a brake, I suggest you practice using it on flat surfaces. To justify spending the extra money on the Oracle, you have to commit to learning how to use the brake. You probably won’t like it at first, but you will improve with practice. Brakes come in handy not just for steep hills, but for any sustained downhill. They save your knees. Bottom line: What are your riding conditions?

Free mount

Dose a brake help in free mounting or at least in the “learning to free mount process” ?

Not at all. For a static mount, the wheel should stay stationary with the pedals flat, but the frame will rotate around the wheel as you jump up over top. I don’t know of anybody who uses the brake for mounting, but if someone on here does, I’d be interested to hear/see how that works. In any case, I find a static mount more useful for muni because the ground is usually uneven.

I don’t ride mountain with a brake. I have one on my 29er, but it rarely ever gets used unless I’m doing something incredibly steep. It’s a nice-to-have down longer descents imo. My main muni is a 26+, and I don’t have one on that at all.