I need a new unicycle

What’s up you guys? I’m new to the unicycle community and I ride a Torker unistar CX with 16 inch rims. I’m going to compete in a triathlon in November and I’m looking to get a unicycle with a larger wheel to improve my speed and time. What are some recommendations for good racing unicycles that cost around $250? I don’t want anything too crazy, but something that would boost my ground displacement/tire revolution. Thanks.

Nick

Just curious. What kind of distance are we talking here?

You could probably find a used 29" nimbus road in that price range.

Did you mean 26" for the Torker? I’m assuming, but you never know. :slight_smile:

It’s a sprint triathlon with a ten mile biking portion. When I purchased the unicycle, the description listed it as having a 16" wheel, so riding is brutally slow. I’ll do anything to pick up the pace a bit.

Not sure if it’s sold yet but: or trade nimbus 24

Or this one: 24" Custom Mountain Unicycle, MUNI

Or this: 26" Nimbus Muni

First two are 24" and last is 26" so it won’t be as fast as a bike but it will still be a huge improvement over your 16". There are a lot more on the trading post so just keep an eye out.

I did a Triathlon last year on my Schlumpf 36". I did not do as well as I would have liked on it, I was just not fast enough and dropped quite a few places. My overall speed on the cycle placed about 125th (out of about 250).

So my suggestion is go big as you can. I would suggest looking at 36", you have time to learn how to ride it effectively.

Roger

How tall/heavy are you? I just bought my 6 year old a Torker CX 16 inch. I’m not sure what the weight limit is on that thing, but it is recommended for ages 5-9 according to what I saw. Anyway, your height will determine how big you can go, although there are short people here who have modified a 36 and made it work. Anyway, as Roger said, go as big as you can to compete against bikes. I don’t think you can find a used 36 for $250, though.