What Unicycle for Heavy Load?

First off, I’m a newbie. My wife and I want to start using unicycles. She’s had that “dream” of having one since she was a little child. She picked up one from a drift store. It’s in very good condition. I’m not certain of the brand, but it matches the description of one for sale on Amazon.com. It has listed a maximum weight allowance of 150 LBs.

I’m currently 230 LB, so I don’t think that I should try to ride the one she purchased. Can anyone recommend one for my weight? I have only looked at ones on Amazon, and very few list maximum weight allowances.

I did find this one (United 24-inch Trainer for EXTRA LARGE Adults
Price: $258.00) at UnicycleSource.com. Are there any other more economical options?

Apologies for the newbie post.

have a look around unicycle.com there should be something that’ll do you fine :slight_smile:

Thank you for the link. The unicycle that I listed was found there (unicyclesource.com same as unicycle.com). There are lots of other unicycles there, but I haven’t seen any that mention weight limits.

I would guess that those made for tricks should be able to withstand a heavier load, but mainly seeing if anyone had more information.

The best starter unicycle for a larger person would be the Nimbus II with ISIS hub. That United unicycle is based on old technology and won’t be significantly stronger than a cheap Torker.

I’m 220lb, and to be honest any unicycle of reasonable quality will be fine for riding around on. Unicycles which are described as splined or ISIS have a stronger connection between the cranks and hub, and would be completely indestructible on the flat, as they are designed for going offroad or doing big hops and drops. The nimbus II with ISIS as mentioned above is a good example of a nice and solid learner uni, I use one for hockey.