What size wheel for long-distance on roads

Hi Folks.
I’m new to unicycling and am teaching myself on a cheap 20" at the moment. Crazy as it may sound, I’ve entered a 24-hour marathon in Thailand in November. My question is, which uni will be best for an ultra-distance on bitumen. I’m leaning towards a 29" because I also need to think about carrying it to Thailand and getting it on planes, etc (I have yet to inquire with the airline!). Any advice re. sizes ans brands would be really appreciated. Thanks, Chris

If speed is not important and your aim is to achieve a certain distance you may indeed opt for a 29 inch. I would defently invest some time in getting a touring handle and a saddle you can work with. If the road is hilly or you want the option to change crank length en route a set of tho-holed cranks may also be nice.

Simply for riding distance on the road, the 36 wins every time, but if you factor in transportation, storage, steer-ability in a crowd, versatility, the 29 is the better option. You’ll end up owning both one day anyway.

janvanhulzen and Mikefule give good advice, but additional information would be helpful. You said it’s a 24-hour marathon, but didn’t say anything about the actual distance. Time is time, no matter what wheel size you use. If there’s no specific mileage requirement, I would simply spend as much effort and money as it takes to be as comfortable as possible while riding for 24 hours. If, on the other hand, you have a minimum distance requirement, like 50 or 100 miles, I would go with a 36". Yes, you can take these on airplanes. Last summer I picked up Kikenji at the Los Angeles airport coming in from Japan, and he had his 36’r with him, in a big bag (partially broken down). (Just my opinion, YMMV.)