Unicycling Uphill and Downhill

Hi there,

At the moment, I am still learning the basics of unicycling (such as idling and hopping) and one of the things I need to branch out into is slight uphill and downhill rides.

On our pavements, we have some areas which are lowered down to the height of the road, and if I want to ride on the pavement I need to learn how to overcome these slight uphill and downhill rides.

My question, ultimately, is what do you need to do differently to ride uphill and downhill? Which way do you have to lean for both of these?

I have tried searching the forums for this, but I couldn’t quite find the answer I want, so here it is! Thanks, in advance, to anyone who offers me help and advice!

Many thanks

Mark

i figured this out yesterday myself i just leaned forward for going up so there was more pressure and leaned back when going down so i could control my pedaling better

when going down leaning forward is better … most of the time.

You need to lean back when doing downhill, or you’ll fall over.

Klaas has a nice explanation:

http://www.xs4all.nl/~klaasbil/lean_uni.htm

For going up these drop-down kerbs just give yourself a few extra pedal strokes for a little more speed, and the momentum should take you up.
It just takes a little confidence to try, that’s all.
I remember thinking that I’d never be able to ride up and down slopes when I was learning.
As soon as you’ve mastered doing them a few times you’ll be moving on to much bigger things.
Have good fun luck!

back from 2 days of muniing in the Pyrénées mountains …
sorry to contradict you (there have been posts about that but I can’t find them).
this is the same as in skiing your torso should lean downhill.
(though your legs should apply force the way described by klaas bill).
this said it depends of the slope: when it gets extreme you are right.