Unicycle Master's Degree in Engineering Thesis

So, I’m a Mechanical Engineering graduate student going for my Master’s of Science in Engineering, and I have been riding unicycle since about 2007. I primarily ride Muni and around the neighborhood.

I am at the point in my program where I need to decide on a thesis topic… I have decided that if I am going to pour a whole ton of energy into something for the next year or 2, I want it to be something that I’m passionate about.

Why not do it on something related to unicycles I thought? I’m posting here to see if anyone has any ideas on problems or topics related to mountain unicycles, or unicycles in general that might be thesis material. I need something mechanical in nature, and am hoping to include numerical simulation, mechanics, materials, or dynamics into my thesis. The area of biomechanics and the interaction of rider to unicycle is a possibility as well.

If you anyone has any ideas, or wants to suggest unicycle topics that getting an answer to would be beneficial, please let me know. Don’t hesitate to fill up this thread with any ideas you have!

Thanks in advance!

Can you design a tyre that is immune to road camber? You could examine weight, construction, size, sidewall characteristics, shape, tread pattern, materials, and the effect of different pressures and rim width/style.

I’m thinking 36" but it could be any size I guess.

Um, I’ve seen these kinds of requests here before, but never from someone who is in an MS mechanical engineering program.