Unicycle Locks?

Like the post about how to carry a unicycle, I too am trying to integrate my school life with unicycling. I go to a school with a high amout of bike racks and a high bike theft rate. Has anyone any ideas about what types of locks best secure a unicycle, since the seat and the wheel are both risks to be disassembled and stolen? Are there mods to the cycle which could add a ring to put a lock through?
Thanks -Joel

Boy, thats a tough one. I’ve never heard of a kit to attach a ring but then I’m rather new to uni-ing myself :smiley:

But even if you can’t find a kit it shouldn’t be to hard to weld a ring onto the frame :slight_smile: Then if you looped a normal lock through the spokes and that the only thing anyone could steal is the seat. (if you have an expensive one you might want to think about that as well :wink:

Sounds like you are worried the thieves will take apart your wheel at the bearings and walk away with the frame and seat? Somebody earlier mentioned using a Hunter frame for this, but that’s a lot of expense just for locking up.

If your local thieves are really so industrious as to take apart 4 screws or more, my advice to you is to never let your unicycle out of your sight. You might try for permission to bring it into the classroom, or talk to a custodian or someone who has an indoor place you can put it during the day.

And somebody should do something about your school’s bike theft problem.

I didn’t mention this before but you also have to consider whether the thieves would even WANT a unicycle :wink:

The percentage of the population that can ride them is very small.

That could be irrelevant. I think some people steal to stick it to people, regardless of whether they can use the item.