Unicycle Do's/Don'ts #1: Always wear same shoes

I’ve been riding for 6 years, but after a long break I feel like a total beginner.
So, I want to start a string of just a bunch of do’s/don’ts.
Including, minimal explanation, science or procedurals(do…do…).
Feel free to add your own, or poo poo my doo doo.

Here’s my first:
Unicycle Do’s/Don’ts #1: Always wear same shoes

-different shoe = different heights, different feel(hey it felt good yesterday, but today sucks)
Also, you don’t want “too much traction” = can’t eject when needed = falling down on into unicycle = sprains, deep lacerations,…etc.

-just be consistent, I keep my unicycle and my beat up New Balance 481v3 in my trunk.

-if you are changing your riding shoe or just happen to be caught with bare feet, just remember “not to feel overconfident” that you can do all the tricks. Work up to it.

I write this also to encourage “lurking” beginners to participate.
Especially, the people “who can’t even ride”.
You will continue this ancient hobby.

…slam…

1 Like

Yep. One time I had a UPD mounting a basic 24" because I wore different shoes. The soles were too thick and threw me off in the mount. Injured my left elbow and it was sore for a month or more. Anyway, I wear Everlast high tops. I have 2 pairs. Thin soles, I can feel the pedals, and there is ankle protection so my ankles don’t rub against the cranks!! They don’t completely stop me from spraining my ankles though. I triple knot them as having laces caught in the cranks is terrible.

Another time I was practicing unicycling wearing mary jane flats, this was after work and I didn’t bring another pair of shoes with me to the netball courts. Well, I decided to ride a giraffe with them on. I went to dismount, rolled my ankle on the impact, grazing the skin on the top of my foot (mary janes are open at the top). These are it. https://www.myer.com.au/p/jamie-black-pump-312131890