Uni newbie with question @ used Loyd for $50? Good deal?

Hi all. Im totally new to unicycles. Actually, have not even bought or ridden one yet.
But suddenly find myself interested in riding uni. So have been looking for used ones to start out on as I cant afford to spend much money on one now, especially as Ive yet to experientially discover if ill like it enough to really use it much.

So I put a posting online looking to buy a used one.
This woman responded offering to sell her old Loyd unicycle for $50 to me.

I’d like to know if this sounds like a good deal for what it is?

Below is what she says about her uni for sale. -

“It is made by Loyd–an older brand, not like the Torker or newer ones you probably know of. Solid frame/pedals/and wheel with bolted on everything. It is a street unicycle and can be used for tricks because the seat post is a bolt–I found that when bouncing on a unicyle the quick release seats can come loose–annoying!!”

Pics of the unicycle -

I high suggest not buying that unicycle. Nothing about it is good. That seat will be painful. The crank arms are cottered which means they are very weak and since they are a very outdated technology they are near impossible to upgrade at this point if they break. The rim will be weak and the frame isn’t well suited to any sort of freestyle trick.

What I suggest is saving up a bit more and getting this: http://www.unicycle.com/shopping/shopexd.asp?id=1198 which is an amazing unicycle for the money and will make the whole experience much much more pleasant for you. Not to mention that it comes in some pretty cool colors.

I would not pay more than 15 dollars for that Loyd unicycle.

Agree Completely.
That thing needs its Tetnus Shots.
I would go with the one above or a jugglebug…those are always fun.:slight_smile: