Survival tips

Hi guys, I’m an oldie complete beginner (61). I’m ready to put in the hours as I know it’ll take me longer, but at the mo I keep hurting myself by hitting the ground rather than managing to step off. I’ve ended up on my back a few times and today went forward and grazed my knees and hands. Does anyone have any thoughts on what I’m doing/ not doing. Many thanks for your help

1 Like

Welcome :+1:

Get some proper protection. Helmet and wrist guards as minimum.
Maybe also something for your shins, knees and elbows. Find some nice tutorials like UniQuest - Tutorial Series For Beginners and then just practice, practice…

Oh and start with a 20" or 24" and make sure the seatpost is long enough so you get a similar (or slightly lower) extension of your legs as on a regular bike.

If you need better advice filming yourself and posting here will make it easier to give you advice.

2 Likes

Thanks very much Hammer. Yes I’ve got a helmet already and other protection ordered today! Need to get quicker at getting my feet off the pedals and back on terra firma

Make sure your pedals aren’t too grippy. I started with super slick ones and if it was too humid out my feet would slip all around so I never got hung up on those when bailing.

1 Like

I consider helmet, wrist and knee guards to be a minimum. If I’m going to be trying something difficult and there are rocks, uneven concrete or anything else that’s I could fall on then I’ll also add padded shorts, elbow and back protection. For my back I use a hydration pack with a piece of hard plastic and some d30 padding in it.

It depends on the activity and the outside temperature as to how much I’ll wear. I don’t like getting injured, but it’s really easy to wear too much protective gear in the summertime. Downhill or on rocky terrain is where you need it most. Uphill falls tend to be short and slow and on flat ground or easy trails you don’t need the extra gear.

1 Like