Street/Flat Pedal Idea

Today I started learning footplants and about 1/3 of the time I can’t complete it because my pedal flips around to where it would be very hard to jump back on the unicycle. The same thing can happen with unispins and just about every move you do with your feet off the pedals.

What I thought about was putting a small magnet on the inside edge of both pedals on both sides of the axel, so that when your feet left the pedals the magnet would be attracted to the crank and the pedal would stay flat. While you were riding you would probably have to put a tiny bit more pressure on the pedal to move, but such a small amount that it wouldnt really matter.

What do you think?

I like the idea because when doing rolling 180 unispins sometimes the pedal flips and my foot gets stuck inbetween. The only problem I see with it is when doing crankflips the will need to be perfect 360 (720, 1080) rotations or else you may not be able to get your foot to get on the pedal.

or you could put a small weight on the bottom of the pedal…similar to this:

you wont need the straps, but that thing on the bottom keeps it so the pedal stays upright. And I know these pedals wouldn’t work good, but a similar but better design may. :roll_eyes:

The magnet is lighter I think… If this system works well, I would buy or make one…

For crankflips I think if you got within 30-40 degrees it would still be landable.

The wieght idea would work but I think it would prevent you from grinding.

EDIT:Unless someone comes up with a major reason this wouldnt work I will try it and report back.

This would not work actually.

It would just make the pedal horizontal at all times. Not alligned with the cranks.

Or you could practise. No one takes up unicycling because it’s easy.

A bad workman blames his tools.

If the weight that was attached to the bottom of the pedal was a grind plate, it would improve grinding.