So how do you like to track your rides?

I’m just a unicycle noob who can’t even complete 1km yet. But I have high hopes of unicycling being my new way to “go running” sometime soon. (Supposedly a 24" is similar in effort and speed to jogging… That is definitely NOT the case for me now, its more like 6x the effort, but anyway…)

As such, i would like to track avg/top sppeed and distance to see how my skills and fitness are progressing over time. What are folks’ favorite way to do this?
The Nike Run Club app is great for running, is there something similar for cycling that anybody recommends? I was also wondering about adding a cycle computer, although the mounting might be less than ideal (with no handlebars: clamp it to the seat post? Then its protected from falls, but you can’t see it while riding?)
It might be interesting to have an odometer too, especially as it relates to things like tire life/rotation too and just knowing total unicycling miles).

That is also not the case after many years of riding. For the opposite reason, it is pretty much impossible to get my heartrate up anywhere close to where it would be when jogging, since the speed on a 24" is limited by my maximum cadence, not my cardiovascular system. That comparison may be true for one person, at one point in his fitness and riding skill, but certainly not in general, not even as a rule of thumb. (Without sounding like bragging, I’ll have to add though that I’m pretty well in shape, and that I’ve been unicycling for a very long time to add some perspective.)

I don’t track unicycle rides, but for running I’ve recently bought myself a GPS watch, and I really like that experience. No need to make sure my phone is charged enough, easy to glance at to check my pace, and the GPS (at least in my case), is a lot better than my phones. If you don’t need it to be a smartwatch as well, you can find these watches for very little money used to try it out. Would work well for the same reasons on a unicycle too.