old unicycle project question

I posted this on an old bicycle site and was steered to this site. I wondered if anyone could help me figure out who the manufacturer was and maybe about the time frame of this unicycle frame Thanks in advance

unicycle DSCN4178%201.jpg

I’m no expert (there aren’t any), but it looks homemade or custom. The seat post clamp is unique. The bearing holders are better than most factory frames from the 60’s or 70’s. I’ll defer to johnfoss, who knows more than anyone should about unicycle history. You might have more success dating the seat.

That frame is COOL! I’ve never seen one like it. Very interesting, and I am definitely leaning toward handmade. By a real craftsman. Do you think it’s steel, aluminum or something else? What’s the history of that uni that you are aware of? In other words, how (and where) did you come to acquire it?

It’s probably an optical illusion, but the bearing holes look like they’re oval. If they are, that would be really, really weird. What’s the intended wheel size or distance from axle to inside top of fork crown?

I have seen some aluminum frames that are from the 1940s or 50s, which I was told were made by Nissen, a company that still makes gymnastics equipment like trampolines, balance beams and such. But this one is different.

It is cast brass and nickel or chrome plated. The seat post clamp is a steel insert in the brass casting. The axle holes are round. It has a Messenger seat. I bought it years ago as is, at a bike meet, maybe Portland. I am pretty sure it takes a 24" wheel I am not sure it had bearings, maybe a bushing ??

ok if john dont know…
i have seen that frame or simular in an artist museum noth of berlin germany.
so if John dont know it, may be its an old artist frame build in the USSR. in the early 20 century they made bears riding bikes and unicycles in cirkus. if you look on saddle and how strong the frame is…

metric screw thread?