Need Help with Getting Started

Hello to the forum. I’m rather new to the idea of unicycling and want to get started. I’ve searched the forums, and been researching this whole unicycling sport. But I’m having some problems getting started.

First, let me explain a couple things. I’m 37, 5’11" tall and weigh between 250 and 260 depending on the week due to medication I am taking. I’m trying to get some form of exersise in my daily routine, and cycled for years but lost interest. I’ve been thinking of getting a unicycle since returning from vacation where I saw a teenager riding one around the campground I was staying at, and thought it would be fun to do and get me out more. Plus I can store a unicycle far easier than a 12 speed bike in my apartment.

Here’s my problem. I’ve been looking at the different models, blown away by some of the prices, and having a tough time trying to figure out which model to buy. I would like to try MUni riding, but I’m not into doing tricks or jumps or stunts, as I’ve been there/ broke that, too many times in the past. Mostly I’m planning on riding sidewalks, pavement, some gravel roads and lawn areas. Nothing too extreme, but this is something I am setting my mind to and setting a goal to do this.

So far I’ve figured out that I should start out with a 24" Uni according to the Unicycle.com websites little new buyer calculator, but it only shows one type of Unicycle suggested for a beginner my size. I’m looking for something that I am probably going to have to settle with for long term due to income.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks

Matt

I think that there are probably a lot of threads about these sorts of questions already, if you have time to do some searching.

I am about 5’ 6" and I learned to ride on a 24" Nimbus. I am getting ready to build a custom unicycle and I will probably build a 26".