My first Muni ride!

Yesterday was the first day around here that the trails would be dry enough to go for my first Muni ride. My wife and I did about 4 miles on MTBs and then I brought out the Nimbus 26" and we went to some of the flatter sections.
It was a super nice day with lots of hikers and bikers out. All of the company made me nervous. Once I started riding though a few things became instantly obvious:

1. Unlike riding a unicycle on the street, riding a big knobby tired Muni on a single track trail commanded instant respect.
  2. My Nimbus can ride much better than me, once I started calming down I was extremely impressed with its ability to overcome small obstacles such as roots and protruding rocks.
  3. I work well under pressure.
  4. Most people have never seen a unicyclist in the woods.
  5. Freemounting while on any kind of incline is really tough.

We had a great day and I could not have asked for a better first time out.

I have seen a lot of posts about people asking if there MTB, BMX, or whatever other skills transfer to Muni. In my little experience I agree that other being able to read terrain, it is not going to give you a big head start, however I do believe that Muni skills to transfer well to MTBing. Ive only been riding unis for 6 weeks but the strength in my legs that I have developed struggling on a unicycle made me fly up climbs on my bike that would usually have me way out of breath.
Cant wait to get out to the trails again.

Mark.

I forgot to mention the best part of my ride: