Mounting

I watch a lot videos of pros mounting and when they press down on the pedal the uni doesn’t roll back under them. Whenever I mount the uni always rolls back under me, how do you get it to stay “motionless” (best word I could think of)?

I haven’t been uniing long so I’m not an expert. But how I mount without the uni moving is I put my left foot on the pedal almost completely horizontal, just a little under it. Then jump up and forward catching the right pedal with my other foot. (when you jump up and forward your pedals should be horizontal by the time your other foot catches the pedal crank thing)

hold the wheel

do the same thing when you mount but hold onto the wheel when you mount. it will keep the wheel still.

I have been riding for a while and I mount without the wheel moving. Rather than stepping down on the pedal you should “walk” onto the uni and lean forward rather than lean back and have it come under you.

Don’t straighten your leg. Easy instruction, hard to do. But if you don’t unbend your leg the pedal won’t go anywhere. Give a push forward while not unbending the leg on the pedal, rotate up and over the top, and then start pedaling away with your other foot.

Repeat a zillion times until it’s second-nature. :slight_smile:

I start with one pedal all the way down. And looking at all the videos, that seems to be the wrong way to do it, but works for me.

You have to sort of push forward against the seat as you hop up onto the seat. That makes the uni want to move forward and away from you, and so the foot that’s on your pedal already, instead of moving downward, is simply preventing the uni from moving forward.