(mild) XC with a freestyle uni

Well, before asking, I know the answer: get a muni! I’ll do that… I’m already dreaming a KH 24…

but…

for some months I’ll not be able to buy one, and even if my Qu-ax Luxus isn’t that all-purpose uni… it becomes thus, since it’s the only one I’ve got! (just since Xmas, I’m a newbie)

I’ve begun to do some mild XC (no drops, no technical trails…) with it, and even sensing the limitations of a 20" thin tyre, I’m enjoyn’ so much! And the tyre too, it’s got more grip than I thought of. I live in the alps 'tween Italy and Switzerland, so there’s plenty of mountain off-road paths, trails and so.

But: if I keep using it this way, what do I risk? is it just a change of cranks?

Thanks!

A 29" would be perfect for Mild XC. A 20" just won’t cut it, even with the shortest cranks.

But, with the lack of cash, I would try some shorter cranks. They cost like $15 (if you have a cotterless hub), so if you don’t like em, go back to your longer ones.

It might help to know the mm of your cranks that you are using now.

thanks for the advice, it’s a possible upgrade.

What I wanted to know is the possible damage with this mis-use of my uni: will it endure a bit of XC? is it cranks/pedals I’m risking, or other parts?

You’re most likely to bust either the cranks or the hub. Cranks are easy and cheap to replace, hubs cost more and require you to dissasemble and rebuild and retune the wheel, a lot of effort. However if you avoid all drops and don’t go up or down very steep hills then it should be ok, I use to do x-country on an old cotter pin crank pashley with no problems.

I concur, and your seatpost, unless its reinforced. If the hub is cro-moly, it will put up w/ a lot more.