Learning to commute via unicycle

Hi all!

I’m a regular bicycle commuter, and I’m considering converting to unicycle commuting. I’ve come to notice a lot of limitations with a transportation method involving two wheels. I’d appreciate some advice.

There’s a few things I’m hoping unicycling will improve and accomplish. Since I’m a student at a college in the city, space is limited and bike theft is common. Theoretically, I could take a unicycle with me, versus locking it in sparsely located secure bicycle cages. The portability would mean I can hop on and off on demand, greatly reducing travel time across campus. It’d also fit in my car or public transit without a problem. It’d be a big improvement over a bulky and cumbersome bicycle. I also have a crazy plan to hold a 6 cell maglite as a bike light and to see the road when riding at night.

My concerns are that I’m still very new and haven’t mastered mounting, I can’t control my direction very well, I cover distance really slowly, and a bunch of other unicycle newbie problems. I’m thinking that, with enough practice, I should overcome these. I’m also worried that, while short rides will be no problem, 5-10 mile rides will start to take significantly longer than on a bike. I regularly bike at more than 20 mph, I think that’s pretty fast, but I’m not sure how fast I can go on a unicycle.

I’m considering a 29" road unicycle, something like these:
http://www.unicycle.com/unicycles/schwinn-29-inch-unicycle.html
http://www.unicycle.com/unicycles/nimbus-29-inch-commuter-special-unicycle.html

So, are my goals reasonable? Are the problems way too severe?

And thanks for reading!

Don’t carry a six-cell MagLite. Get a lightweight, high-lumen, LED flashlight, helmet light, or bike light. I have a 180 lumen LED flashlight that I bought for $20 that uses three AA cells and is WAY brighter than a MagLite.