japanese translation of "trials"

Today I was trying to determine the japanese translation of the word “trials” (I am minoring in Japanese FYI) and am not quite sure which word is best.

1- shiken (trials as in test) or
2- kokoromi (trials as in attempt)

which is better?

As a person of full Japanese descent, thus qualifying me as an expert, I can tell you that I have no idea.

Daniel

since shiken is usually used as meaning a school test, i think this may not be best. kokoromi comes from the verb kokoromiru (which is the most common word for “try”). the problem is that it would be better to use a less common word for the name of the sport (it wouldnt be as cool to call “trials” riding “attempt” riding or “try” riding). so another word may be tameshi (from the verb tamesu). i think kokoromi would be best since it sounds like kokoro which means heart, or mind, and represents the soul.

neither, the correct word is in fact: kokoromishirubiteakwanswansushieskouatonatakonkkukurukidukiwookie…

I would dig up what the Japanese call Bike Trials, and use that. Surely that sport exists over there.

Both ‘attempt’ and ‘test’ fit well. Though I prefer test, we should go with existing terminology.

Or ask the Japanese Trials unicyclists, if there are any yet.

okay, this is my final comment on this pointless thread (maybe).

Upon doing some research, I leared that there is no recognized japanese word for trials. Japanese has an alphabet specifically for foreign words and so they are basically just the english words with a japanese sound. so trials is “toriaru” and unicycle trials is “yunitora” (the japanese often condense these foreign words so this example combines the first half of unicycle and trials). this is disappointing since i was hoping it would be something cool, like kokoromi.

I still enjoyed it. :slight_smile:

my bet is that they use the word ‘trials’. except the ‘L’ is probably pronounced like an ‘R’.