Is Electric Unicycling Actually Unicycling?

I taught myself how to unicycle almost 2 years ago, and ever since I started riding, people have asked me many questions other than where my other wheel is, a main question has been If I either ride or have any connection to electric unicycles. Electric unicycling has been on the uprise in recent times, and as glad as I am to see more representation for the sport of unicycling, I just can’t bring myself to acknowledge electric unicycling as the same as unicycling. I tend to view it as a different sport entirely, But I want to see what other unicyclists think in response to the question:

Is Electric Unicycling Actually Unicycling?

In my opinion, electric unicycling is the same to unicycling than motorbiking is to biking. It is related, but really different at the same time.

5 Likes

I would make an even bigger difference than motorcycle and bicycling. It’s to unicycling what segways are to bicycles.
Same amount of wheels, but fundamentally very different in the way you ride it.

3 Likes

I don’t really agree, you steer basically the same way, you have the same amount of contact points, the physics are basically the same, and you can do really similar things.

• Freestyle is doable on both (I personally can do 1 foot riding on both, and several tricks on both)
  • Commuting is doable on both (main use on electric ones, not so uncommon on muscular ones)
  • Offroad riding is doable on both (and it is really fun in either case)
  • Electric unis can go way faster (up to 110 kph I think for the fastest you can buy)
  • Jumps are way bigger on electric (a jump over a bus has been performed)
  • Electric is way heavier
  • Electric costs a lot more
  • Cyclists don’t really like motorbikers and many unicyclists don’t really like electric unis

That’s basically exactly the same difference but for a different amount of wheels

1 Like