Inspiration Needed!

Help, inspiration needed! I’ve been unicycling for a few months now and have been delighted by the constant feeling of making progress, if only very slight progress. Until recently. I feel like progress has stalled and that I may even be getting worse.

To add some detail, at the moment I can ride, rollback freemount, jump mount, idle well with my dominant foot, ride backward in a line and in a circle,* and have made some slight* progress in sif riding / hopping.

I’m attempting to backroll and backroll mount, with almost zero success - I can’t seem to get the wheel to roll. I’m trying to idle one footed, but reckon I learnt the ‘wrong’ way in that the top foot seems to have too much control.
Even idling with my weaker foot is a struggle, the uni seems to have a mind of it’s own. Hopping has reached the crazy heights of… a kerb! Wheel walking just plain hurt when I went flying off the back!

Now I don’t want to come across like I’m moaning here, I’m really not. I’m delighted with my progress and love the fact that I’ve discovered and am loving unicycling at the ripe old age of 41. I just want to reclaim that great feeling of making progress, however small, and figure you guys are my best bet for advice and inspiration.

Am I attempting too much at once, or perhaps attempting things in the wrong order, or maybe moving onto new techniques before I’m truly grasping more fundamental techniques?

Have you thought about change track slightly and doing some MUni?

I am new to riding and love every ride off-road as it is so all encompassing the rough terrain really keeps you sharp and focussed and the joys of being out in the country on a ridiculous mode of transport really tickles me :stuck_out_tongue:

While I like practicing mounts and jumps I would rather be out riding and enjoying myself on the trails (it almost feels like homework lol)