I Suck :(

I’ve been unicycling for like 2 years mostly on my 20" but that got stolen just shortly after I thought about going extreme on it. Then I got my current 24" and I’ve only managed to overcome the intimidation of managing that thing 2 months back and started on doing more than plain regular riding on it.

BUT I SUCK.

I’ve just got one-foot riding like last week and I’ve been trying to wheelwalk and have been deproving since then. AND I can’t hop for nuts. Heck, I’m so stupid at jumping, I can’t even suicide mount because I can’t jump high enough to clear the seat.

The best part is that I thought I’d get myself a 20" again today BUT IT IS OUT OF STOCK!!!

So depressing…

Well… that sucks.

You didn’t mention your age, physical condition or location, so it’s hard for us to offer meaningful words of encouragement. But I do have this: If you can ride one-foot, you are already better than 95% of the unicyclists in the world. Most only ever learn to ride forward and maybe freemount.

Don’t feel too bad, people learn at much different rates than others. Some of these young whippersnappers on the forums (myself NOT included) ride for 6 months and can already reverse suicide triple-wrapped standup backwards wheelwalk mount sonic supreme with extra bacon, while others are still perfecting the fine art of freemounting at that point. Just ride to ride, man, don’t get caught up in learning fancy stuff. It’s not a contest.

I’m 22 which is really 12 years too aware of pain. Well, on the bright side, after starting on a 5km run 5 days a week routine, I’ve gotten a hell lot stronger and more confident on my uni. But I’ve got weak arms so that negates everything.

Just hang in there and ride for fun.
You can change your definition of fun as the mood takes you.