Howdy, from Texas, USA (#2)

What’s your name? Shawn

Where do you come from? Texas, USA

What is your experience of unicycling? I have been learning off and on since June 2018, and recently switched to more “on”.

So, let’s consider this my Introduction #2. My first introduction, in 2017, was not really phrased as such, and I realize now that I may have scared everyone, which may have kept the replies to zero. A link to that first introduction of sorts is here: Wow, my list of goals has changed...

Back then, my user name was different. Now, it more accurately reflects, well, me!

While learning to unicycle after two spine surgeries, my son told me, “You can do this. Anyone can learn. But, you need to WANT to.” He said this while walking away from me, back to his unicycle, while I was braced against a wall about to push off for what seemed like my one thousandth time to totter for 5 to 20 feet before awkwardly losing my balance. Something changed that night. I got it into my head that I really did want to, and I wasn’t going to let fear keep me from learning.

The next day, I rode 30 yards. Then 40. Then, I rode for over 100 yards on my 24” Schwinn retro. My son got a video of that. That was a happy day. And, THAT video is what got my neurosurgeon to “sign off” on unicycling.

Since then, I have added a Trials uni and a 24” Muni to the mix, but the constant gouging of my shins, and resulting blood-stained socks & shoes were holding me back, if only mentally. A few months ago, UDC sent an email letting me know that Kris Holm Leg Armor was back in stock. I ordered a pair, and that was a game changer. Suddenly, I became confident enough to actually break some sort of mental barrier that was keeping me from trying harder, and was limiting the distance I was riding, also. It was also keeping me from mastering free mounting. The leg armor made all the difference.