Horse seat Unicycle

Is it just me or is that wheel hub off centre?

Inspired by Tom Miller I’ve been debating making one of these, there’s all sorts of plush horses.

I am by no means an expert but, yes, the hub does look off center. That would probably explain why it also looks like the rider is bobbing up and down. Maybe it’s intentional to simulate actually riding a horse.

Yes, it is definitely off center. The trick is using a variety of different spoke sizes.

I have one that Ken Adelman made. It was hanging around U Games for people to try. Ken wrote a program to generate the spoke lengths.

corbin

They’re called kangaroo unicycles and they’re really rare

no, a kangaroo uni has the pedals next to each other instead of 180 degrees off.

the whole joke is that it’s supposed to be a carousel horse. some even have the pole going up the middle

and as mentioned, a kangaroo is different, however, some/most kangaroos also have an off center (eccentric) hub in order to make it easier to ride.

A pole up the centre is an amusing idea. I was thinking this would be more for jousting. Never ridden an off centre unicycle (or bicycle for that matter). I wonder how far off centre it needs to be to give the look without being really difficult to ride.

How can a horse be a kangaroo? The off-center wheel is called an eccentric cycle.

Here’s an eccentric kangaroo (yes, a kangaroo can be eccentric).

Wow thats kinda cool John, I’m thinking that with the hub off center, and the cranks parallel at just the right spot, it just might work fairly decent.

Joeseph Campbell and I almost paralled the cranks on my uni on purpose, just so he could try it. That guy’ll ride anything with one wheel. But we didn’t try it.

Now there’s a thought. Instead of a horse, I’ll have to find a kangaroo. Switch the crank arms so they are set like a kangaroo and of course the off centre wheel.

Mind you, I’m not sure how many would find that amusing, and I bet it would be very difficult to ride.