getting mother convinced

My mother has pulled the plug on my unicycling wants, she says that ill fall and break somthing. i was just wondering if you guys could help me out by giving me somewhat truthful “safety” features of a uni. how much of a chance is there of breaking a bone when you are learning. thanks to all who respond

i have been riding 6 months and have only got peddle bitesand have only fallen and not landed on my feet 3 times.they are very safe as long as you step off when you feel it getting out of control.

How about this…

I’ve been riding for 2 years, and have only heard of one incedent. I forget who, but someone broke his leg while riding down stairs. While riding a unicycle down stairs.

The people who hurt themselves are already great riders looking for something better to do.

Let your mom know that it is such a safer sport than basically any other sport, and the incident level is ridiculously low.

On the other hand, it is a great cardio workout, a great abs and legs workout, a great self esteem workout (because c’mon, who doesn’t feel like they are king of the world when they pull of something they’ve been trying?)

There is really just no reason NOT to unicycle. Please check out the brokens bones poll I am about to start…poll here

Your lowest foot is never more than 8 inches or so off the ground, how dangerous can that be?

Re: getting mother convinced

Not that it makes any difference but how old are you. I’m over 40 and my mother also worries about me on a unicycle too. :slight_smile:

The fact is you could fall and break something. I haven’t seen actual statistics but I’d think the most likely fractures would be wrist or forearm. This is true for rollerblading or skateboarding. But I feel the overall chances of such a fracture are lower on a uni. So make that low risk even lower. Just wearing a set of wrist guards when learning will greatly reduce the chance of wrist injury. I’d wear a helmet too.