fish eye lenses

Hey everyone,

I am about to buy this video camera:
http://www2.panasonic.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/vModelDetail?storeId=15001&catalogId=13401&itemId=96239&catGroupId=25003&modelNo=PV-GS180&surfModel=PV-GS180&cacheProgram=11002&cachePartner=7000000000000005702
and i am looking at getting a fish eye lense for it. does anyone know anything about these lenses because i dont :slight_smile:

what should i look for in terms of brands/styles/types etc?

what will fit on this camera?

Any info would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,
Max

I’m no expert on the matter but I’m afraid I think you have to spend alot more on a video camera than that before you get one where you can swap lenses over. It has a lens built in to the end, something like this has removable lenses so a fish-eye can be fitted. I hope you find something that will work within your budget but you might well have to look more at the semi-professional rather than home user equipment.

no you can screw other lenses onto this one.

If you don’t know anything about fish-eye lenses, how do you know that you need one?
I suspect in any case that you cannot add/change the lens on this camera. Filters probably.

Nao

I think a fish eye is a good idea. I think I’ve only seen one uni vid that has used a fish eye. They give the video a nice look and they also make gaps or drops look bigger and therefore more impressive.
Go for it mate, I think it would be worth your money.

Jas

Contrary to popular belief you can get add on lenses for this camera:

eg: http://cgi.ebay.com/Tele-Wide-Angle-Lens-Fits-Panasonic-PV-GS300-PV-GS180_W0QQitemZ260045320337QQihZ016QQcategoryZ73444QQcmdZViewItem

Don’t expect the cheap ones to be great quality but they should give the desired effect.