Feet Position for Basic Riding

Hi there,

I have noticed in a lot of the beginner posts that people always suggest that the best foot position is to use the “balls” of your feet on the pedals.

I have come across this many times, and am slightly concerned as I have just learned to unicycle using the middle of my feet (just below what are known as the “balls” of the feet). I have tried using the balls of my feet, but this makes me feel less secure.

My questions, to any and all who can answer this, are “Is it important to use the balls of your feet on the pedals?” and “Why?”.

Is it not possible to use the middle of your feet, like me, and still ride proficiently?

All I want is a simple explanation, which I’m sure many of you could give me. Please be gentle, I’m only a rookie to all this! LOL!

Thanks, in advance, to any and all that offer help and advice!

Many thanks

Mark Watson

I’ve used the centre of my feet all my ridding life and I’m fine, i think the minoroty use the balls of there feet for general ridding.

Whatever works for you is the “correct” foot position. I learned using the balls of my feet first because that’s how I ride a bike, but I can pedals in lots of different foot positions now.

There is nothing wrong with your feet placement, there are threads that have discussed the merits of both, from memory the summary is something like.

Balls - more efficient and greater power as you are using the muscles in both your upper leg (as the knee flexes) and lower leg ( the ankle).
By having the pedal under the instep the lower leg muscles are used far less.

Instep - this is preferred by trials and extreme muni riders (I’m neither) as they feel that when UPDs occur this position is less likely to result in damage to the ankle and the placement is more solid and consequently UPDs are less likely in the first place.