Do you think a book on unicycling can help me improve my unicycling skills?

The book I have in mind is “Unicycling: First Steps - First Tricks”, by Anders-Wilkens Mager. Should I buy it? Can it possibly help me? Or is the only thing that helps practice, practice, practice? I am a novice who is struggling with learning to unicycle. I have succeeded to go 4-5 meters twice and shorter distances a lot more.

What are your experiences with (and consequent opinions on) written instructions about unicycling skills?

I really don’t think it will help you :wink: Just practice and eventually you’ll get it. Go! Now!

well, a book might help only to a point. but practice practice and more practice is of course the best way to go. I don’t know anybody that learned from reading. I would recomend reading other people hints and taking advice and save the money. I would recomend finding a fence or wall to start with and follow along the wall till you have the feel for what uni feels like. then it will sort of start coming to you. but if the wall starts getting to easy, learn without the wall. for me learning to mount was the HARDEST thing for me to learn. so spend more time on mounting. look around on this site and somebody probably has a tuturial somewhere for you to watch.

Learning from a book sure didn’t help the Karate Kid. Now show me Sand the Floor! Wax on, Wax off! In all seriousness though, just get out and practice, practice, practice. The one thing that really helped me learn was not to practice too much at a time. If I tried to go for any more than 30 minutes I’d either get too tired or frustrated and it seemed like I really wasn’t progressing any. Trust that it will come is all I can say. If I can learn I truly believe anybody can, I was horrible at first; now I’m competing in 12 hour mountain bike races!