Do KH team members use the titanium hub?

Some do. Others don’t.

are there any down-sides to it (besides price)?

is it really a lifetime-long product or won’t it break down slowly?

I know UTV riders use the titanium hub :wink: :slight_smile:

How many KH riders use the titanium hub? Spencer, and who else?

-Isaac

Spencer and ummm… Oh! Spencer!

For most people you could probably add price and price. :smiley:

I’m not an expert on Ti, so I don’t know if it’s suject to the same types of fatigue you get with steel, only over longer periods of time. My assumption is that it can withstand the same types of abuse for a longer amount of time, while being quite a bit lighter the whole time.

For bike/unicycle loads, it’s probably reasonable to assume that titanium is being stressed at a level below its fatigue limit, and thus will not suffer metal fatigue under normal loads and assuming proper manufacturing. The main issue with Ti is that it’s hard to work with, and it’s possible to mess it up when machining or welding it so that it’s more likely to fatigue and/or fail. This is probably more likely to be an issue when using off-shore manufacturing, as KH does. Still, I wouldn’t expect it to be a common issue–and the non-TI KH hubs have a disturbing tendency to deform the hub flanges under normal loads, which almost certainly won’t happen to the TI hub.

A good article on Ti.

How much weight difference are we talking about here?

it’s a fair bit in terms of actual weight, but not in terms of usefullness.

How many gram is a “fair bit”? Why bother posting if you don’t have the numbers?

I did found this postthat listed the weights of various hubs.

Your savings is 182g, a reduction of about 28% over the CrMo Moment hub. Being that this weight is removed from the center of the wheel, you won’t notice much difference in your ride.

If you’re a cutting-edge rider that’s probably true. For beginner and more casual riders, maybe not.