Dismounting/Breaking bad habits

Hi guys,

In need of some advice. I have been riding for about 2 years i think, and from the get-go i got into a bad habit with my dismounts. I always come off from the front, rather than the correct, and more controlled in appearance, rear dismount.
I have been trying to practice rear dismount and i can occassionally do it but only from stationary and even then it involves a lot of consentration.
Does anyone know of any ‘trick’ i can use whilst trying to re-train myself in to learning the correct method.
(havent worried up until now, because i never wanted to put a handle bar on the front, but now i do)

Any help would be greatly appreciated

If you can’t dismount by gracefully stepping off the back of your unicycle, you should not dismount at all.

Dismounting off the back is easier than mounting the darn thing. When on a bigger wheel (36) I take 10 metres within I want to dismount. It always takes a few slow rotations to feel I can get off the back, but occasionally I don’t get the feel and hop off the front dragging the uni behind me. With middle size wheels, I need fewer distance and maybe 1-2 rotations to step off. When mounting I have my right foot on the pedal first and when dismounting, I have my right foot on the pedal last as well, hence why I need an extra rotation often.
What my help is try to make a stand still, like when you learn to hop. When you can come to a stand still of just a few moments, then you can also gracefully glide off the back.

Hi nick I was in the same position with having picked up bad habits after years of riding.

i found that if you try and ride,stop to dismount then you will go off the front, I found when riding stop fully whilst leaning backwards,make sure weight is fully on your bottom pedal and step off the back with other foot.