Complete Beginner

Hello All,

Myself and my wife have just bought our first ever Unicycles. Any advice, hints, tips greatly appreciated :blush:

4 Likes

Welcome here! :wave:

There are a lot of experts that will be able to help you.

If you’re asking for advice about riding a unicycle, you can ask directly in #riding-advice.

You can also use the search to find some information: https://unicyclist.com/search?q=beginner%20advice

1 Like

Hey FlyingScot, welcome to the forum!!

2 Likes

Cheers Andrew

1 Like

Welcome to the forum, FlyingScot. If you and your wife will be learning at the same time, I recommend you try offering her a shoulder. This learning method is not discussed that much on the forum. I take it neither of you are young riders. Learning may take longer, since you probably won’t be taking the same risks as teenagers. As others said, there are many, many beginner advice threads on this forum. They are actually pretty funny to read, because the more experienced riders argue about the best learning methods. My only other advice is to avoid trying to look or feel in control. You need to embrace the out-of-control-ness of being a beginner. If your arms are twitching madly, that is the way it is supposed to be. And I also recommend wrist guards and a helmet.

3 Likes

Welcome Flying Scot70 and wife,

I’ve been riding for a few years and my advice to any beginners:

1.) Start on 20"

2.) Listen to “beginners”…especially, those who learned at age 50+…who understand the rehabilitation of twisted ankles, sprained wrists and effective dosage of ibuprofin(800 mg/8hrs…provided you are healthy and not on other meds).

3.) Don’t listen to “experts”…especially, those who learned at 8 yrs of age…what wisdom, application of physics or empathy for other’s who can’t ride can be had at that age.

Good luck(keep the seat low, always lean forwards,…never quit)

1 Like

Are you from Scotland as your name suggests? There is a Muni Scotland Facebook group.

1 Like

Hi Zelot,