Bombproof uni for 190 lb rider

I’m just getting started. I’m a street rider now but may do some Muni later.

I really don’t want to put up with broken gear so I’ll pay the bucks. What would you suggest for my 190 lb? I’m not fat (5’10" with a fair amount of upper body muscle due to my job).

Thanks,

Doug
in sunny south Florida

Nimbus ISIS upgraded with KH Moment ISIS cranks, upgrade to a KH fusion freeride saddle with CF base and Cromoly seatpost.

http://www.unicycle.com/shopping/shopexd.asp?id=1050
http://www.unicycle.com/shopping/shopexd.asp?id=952
http://www.unicycle.com/shopping/shopexd.asp?id=259
http://www.unicycle.com/shopping/shopexd.asp?id=1020 (in 25.4 for the nimbus frame)

This uni is stronger than a stock KH and around the same price. You’ve got an undrilled rim, splines ISIS KH cranks, steel frame (stronger than aluminum) and then a solid seat setup. The only other upgrade I might recommend is to the Large Marge rim, indestructible and deliciously wide:

http://www.unicycle.com/shopping/shopexd.asp?id=1177 (you can find it cheaper elsewhere)

totally agree. great job Brian.

yes it will work great for you i ride one and i’m 260

If there’s an economic issue then I Torker DX is a great choice, although a KH seat should quickly replace the stock seat.

He should ask UDC to replace the seat for him, maybe they will charge him less for it.

I think they will, add it to the special requests box in the order form. I would call udc first though.

The seat upgrade should be about $15.

I would try to get a KH from AEB or Ebay for 400ish

People have been writing a bit about the Nimbus frame and hub. It’s heavier and cheaper to buy, but made to lower tolerance and not really stronger then the KH parts, near as I can tell. So I would advise getting a KH 20, and then maybe replacing the pedals. Then go for the carbon seat and other upgrades later as you see fit. If you can swing 450 $ for a trials uni.