balance unicycle for a kid

Hi all,

My 4 year old wants to learn how to ride a unicycle. So, I am looking for some information to help him out with that. He learned to ride a bicycle on a balance bike, that is a bike with no pedals. The idea is that the child pushes with his feet on the ground to propel himself and can then lift his feet of the ground when he is comfortable doing so, thereby learning balance. It worked like a charm and he was able to then ride on a pedal bike on his very first try with no problem.

Do they make balance unicylces? I looked and couldn’t find such a thing. Would it be possible to remove the sprocket/pedals off of a unicycle to make it into a balance unicycle.

As you can probably tell, I have no knowledge of unicycles, so any help would be appreciated. I have a kid who loves cycling, so I am willing to learn.

Thanks!

Molly

I don’t think that a “balance unicycle” like that would work since on a bike when you stop pedaling you keep going, whereas on a unicycle the pedals are fixed to the wheel, so it’s a totally different motion. I think to get him started it would be best just to get a small unicycle, and some pads. :stuck_out_tongue: Depending on how big he is, a 12 inch or 16 inch would probably be a good starter uni.

I bought a cheap unicycle for my 5 year old daughter from ebay. (the unicycle’s from ebay… not my daughter)

I can’t really recommend her unicycle because it had some problems. Though we haven’t had any problems with it since then. She just barely is big enough for it. I’m pretty sure it’s a 16". If inseam measurements would help, let me know. I have to lower the seat all the way, which meant I had to cut some of the seat post, which would have otherwise hit the tire.