Bagpipes on the unicycle.

Some of you may know that I’ve been working for the past two years to learn how to play the bagpipes.
I’m a slow (ish) learner.

After spending an incredible amount of time on the practise-chanter I finally ‘went to instrument’ about 2 months ago.
It’s a steep learning curve. You basically keep banging your head against ‘flat-out impossible’ until you make a dent and reach ‘forgetaboutit’.
A bit of persistence and you reach the hallowed level of ‘stopkiddingyourselfidiot’ which leads you straight into ‘imnevergoingtogetthis’.

And then one day…

The golfers will know what I mean.

When people ask the inevitable ‘why?’, I’ve taken to answering ‘because I want to be able to play Avril lavigne’s Sk8tr Boi on the bagpipes while idling a 5ft tall giraffe unicycle’.
I try n deliver this line as casually as possible, with as much ‘doesn’t everyone?’ in my voice as I can muster.

I’m not quite there yet.
(You won’t believe what a hassle it is to get bagpipe transcriptions of Avril Lavigne tunes nowadays, tsk…tsk…tsk.)

But last night, I played one verse of Amazing Grace on the pipes while idling my unicycle.

I know, I know, video please.

I’ll get some this weekend and stick it up in my gallery and link to it here.

I just had to tell someone who might ‘get it’.

Yes, video please. I’ve never seen bagpipes on unicycle yet. Often a large bagpipe group plays in the same parades we are doing. Bagpipes are fine but the worst place for a unicycle group, with its own sound system, is to be right ahead or behind of the pipers.

In the mid '80s I hung out with the Portland comedy crowd quite a bit. Johnny Johnston was “Mr. Bagpipes”, and still is. Check out these vids:

VanHalen’s Eruption (His old signature piece, looks like it still is)

3 minutes of piping routine (Love the “THX” intro)

8 minutes of routines (Did you see him at the SA Comedy Festival?)

Misc. Vids:

Dave, once you get the pipes mastered, you need to learn to rock like Johnny.