a “rear jump mount” (don’t know what it’s called but
you put the uni behind you, seat between your legs,
one foot on a pedal, jump up and ride away). I can’t
mount this way.

I thought this was really unusual to see in a self-taught
beginner. Am I wrong?

Arnold the Aardvark

Re: Unusual beginner?

Actually, it makes sense that if you’d see this at all, it would be with a self-taught person. Most experiences riders teaching someone else to ride would teach the standard “uni in front” mount, or working up to the same from the “curb mount”. Since this person didn’t have anyone to show him, he figured out an approach that worked for him, not knowing there are easier ways to mount.
TB

I am totally self taught. All I had to help me in my quest to learn was a single A4 sheet that came with the uni telling me to keep my back straight and look at a far object - thats it.
To mount, I learnt a variation of the static mount - I’d put the pedal so my left foot was at the bottom, towards the front, put my uni between my legs and jump up - the downforce on the left pedal would have the right pedal on a slight downstroke, I’d put my right foot on it and pedal away immeaditaly. I dont know what type of mount this is but it is still my best mount (I can now do a static (90%), rollback(100%), side mount(70%) and reverse side mount(80%)).
When I could ride a fair distance, I taught myself to roll off curbs so I could ride places without getting off. I had no idea about hopping jumping, or anything like that.
Then I did a search on unicycling on google and found unicycling.com, and my eyes were opened! I started trying the skill levels, street trials and eventually muni.

I never thought of myself as an unusual beginner. After I could ride I taught a mate how to ride - it took him little over a week to learn whereas it took me about three-four weeks. I think if I had a teacher I would have learnt much faster.