switching long cranks

I’ve noticed that on a lot of the impressive vid clips I’ve downloaded e.g. Kris Holm and gbarnes’ stair one, the Muni’s have long cranks(I’m not sure if they’re 170mm or 175mm)

Currently I’m using 150’s on a 24x3" which I’m happy with as they’re good for getting a decent speed with; but I’m getting the urge to try some 175’s to see how much better control I can get.

I was wondering, how feasible is it to be switching the cranks on a regular basis i.e. to get my left crank stable on a new fitting has always involved grease, hammering and constant tightening over several days to get it stable.

I’m actually using 150’s on a 24x3" in the video you mentioned. That said, I’m in the process of building a new 24x3" with 170 mm profile cranks.

About your question, I personally can’t get excited about changing square taper cranks on a regular basis. I think you might find that when you go to 170s you won’t go back to 150s, but I have no real experience here. While I’m talking about stuff I have no experience with, 175 sounds pretty long on a 24x3", I’d stay with 170 or less.

Have you got a link you could give me for this video? I don’t think I’ve got it.

Thanks,
Andrew

http://www.unicyclist.com/gallery/isu_stairs

I wouldn’t switch cranks regularly on a standard square taper hub. It’s just too difficult to get the cranks tight again after changing them. If you’re using a square taper hub it would be best to just get two wheels (one wheel with short cranks and one wheel with long cranks) and swap wheels instead of cranks.

If you have splined cranks like Profile then swapping cranks would be OK. It’s easy to get splined cranks tight again so swapping cranks would be less error prone.