Sun Flat Top Deluxe Off Road Unicycle

I am new to this. First, hello to all of you.

I am curious if anyone owns, has seen, or has ridden one of these unicycles? I am unaware of the cost (it seems to be relatively scarce on the internet). I figured, it being sun, it would be around $300 or less.

I have a nimbus 24" muni that I am totally pleased with. I am not pursuing this in the interest of buying one. It does seem to me however, that this is potentially a good alternative for first time Muni buyers. The Sun website says that the uni is splined, has an aluminum frame, and has a triple wall rim.

I figure someone out there in unicycle land has ridden one of these things.

Any thoughts?

Perhaps no one has ridden one.

I looked into this unicycle a bit more.

It is apparently 10 lbs! Which seems unbelievably light. This would lead me to believe that it is compromising strength somewhere, yet, I do not know. It does have a triple walled rim. It only comes in 24" and I found a few places selling it for $200 shipped.

Am I alone in thinking that, barring some unseen fault, this is a great deal for a first Muni.

Welcome to the forums. Would you be able to supply us with a link or picture of this uni. It’s not one that I’m familiar with.

less than I expected…

Here is the link:

http://www.sunbicycles.com/product_detail.php?short_code=Flat+Top+Deluxe+Off+Road&cl1=UNICYCLES

Brought about by my curiosity, I wrote an email to Sun Bikes and asked about the Uni.

They responded that the unicycle weighs about 11 pounds, is splined but not ISIS, and would withstand serious hopping and off road riding.

From my perspective, the splined but non-isis nature of the uni makes it almost totally useless. A broken part would render the unicycle unusable. I do not understand the motive behind making a unicycle incompatible with unicycle components. A quick look at these forums would tell anyone that unicyclists are fond of customizing/upgrading their unicycles.