Strava

Now that Strava has reduced what is available for free, anyone going to upgrade and start paying?

I’ve used Strava for years and often thought of subscribing, but basically there was nothing I needed that a paid subscription had to offer. Well, now that they have taken away many features including segment analysis, maybe there is. Of course, it’s hard to pay for what you used to get for free!

Now, if they had a unicycle type, that would change my mind. Like that will ever happen.

Maybe that’s our little leverage: tell them we’ll only pay if they add Unicycle as a category. I didn’t realize they’re moving to less options - I guess I’m only using it to record the rides to have a sort of track of how much I do each month/year.

I’ve been paying for a couple of years now, because: [LIST=1]

• I valued the Beacon (live track) feature, which is [Premium] [Summit] Subscriber only.
  • I value the product itself, and want the company to succeed. [/LIST] I'm really annoyed by the lack of a unicycle option, either as an activity type or one of the four possible "bike" types. I've only logged 2 unicycle rides on Strava so far, but I'll be doing more. Now that I have a Garmin, I'm using the Garmin Connect live track instead. I'm not quite annoyed enough to cancel my subscription, but I would be prepared to make a fuss on the customer support forum.
  • I use Map My Run, which has more than one unicycle category, is free, and does splits.

Oh yes, and

1. The heatmap. I do like my heatmap.

The owners’ apologies for rising the price and cutting free options were so pathetic, it didn’t convince me to pay :frowning:

I have been using the free version and I’ll continue to use it.

Since I cannot compete with the cyclists anyway I just use the segments to compare me against me :slight_smile:

Since I cannot compete with the cyclists anyway I just use the segments to compare me against me :slight_smile:
    The free version still allows this.