Stalling out?

I get about half a rev and then stall. What is the trick to not stalling at 6 and 12 o clock?

momentum - tell yourself to keep pedaling.

I’m no great unicyclist myself, but for me it just came down to practice practice and practice.
I know a lot of people recommend the wall method, but I learnt to go by doing a supported mount, looking across to the corner of a room, leaning forward and just pedalling like mad. Come off after half a revoluntion over and over and over again, then maybe manage 3 revolutions, but before I knew it I was crashing into the wall on the other side of the room :smiley:
And yes, momentum, that’s where the pedalling like mad comes into it. It’s tempting at first to take it steady but faster is easier when you’re starting out.

I had this problem in two different situations: when I first started, and when I started riding up hills. For starting at first, I found that pointing my toe down at the bottom of the stroke helped me get over the 12-6 stall:

It took a few hours to get past this stall, but as soon as I got past the first half revolution, I could ride a few hundred meters.

The second time I had this problem was when I started riding up slightly steep hills. I’d push too hard on the pedal and end up jumping off the uni when my first foot hit the 6 o’ clock position. It took several hours of practice on several days riding the same little hill to get myself to stop putting pressure on the pedal at the bottom of the stroke. I can now make myself stall in the 9-3 position if I need to, instead of getting stuck at 12-6. I think this has an official name, but I don’t remember it…