Some Curb-Mounting Success (long; pointless)

All,

On Saturday I had an afternoon that consisted entirely of curb mounting. As I stated in other threads, I didn’t go more than 2 or 3 feet at all, except for twice (the two documented on my web page at http://lwb.org/vault/stuff/ ). It was a hard day.

On Sunday, I put more air pressure in my tire, and I had a great cycling day, and I did some stuff I’ve never done before, like cross from concrete to grass to concrete again, and power through a lip/rise in the sidewalk, etc. I went over 70 feet at least 30 times. It was a great day.

Armed with a little more confidence, I did some more curb mounting today (tuesday). I was waiting for my friends to arrive for dinner (Gonzo Dining Society, from which Chris has been painfully absent for 3 months now), so I got in a little over an hour.

Now, the conditions were harder than usual. I was doing it off my own front steps out into the yard. That means that I had to deal with concrete cracks, the concrete/grass border, uneven bumps in the grass, shrubs on either side for the first 2-3 feet, overhanging trees on one side, and the street 25 feet ahead of me. Adding to this was fear, because some of the shrubs have thorns, and there is a security sign I could fall onto (I moved it), and the worst part … it was wet out.

I have only tried practicing once before when it was wet, and fear was my biggest problem then too. Plus, the tires slip, my feet slip, the pedals slip … ugh. Not easy for me.

But I decided to do it anyway, to try to throw in a bunch of variables I don’t usually handle at the same time.

Well, the first 20-25 tries got me nowhere, but after my really good day on sunday, I was still confident. I could tell a lot of it was just fear. Once I got over that, I was able to analyze my problems.