So many new sizes!

I started riding unicycles when I was 11. It took me 3 hours to learn. I could ride forward, backward, turn and spin like a top, piggy back a friend, off road, ride one foot.

I’m now 48 and still have my first unicycle. It has a 20" wheel and is way too small for me now and haven’t ridden it for any more than 100’ in the last 30 years, but I can still ride it. About 8 years ago I ran into a couple guys with 24" unicycles and asked if I could try them. They were impressed at how well I could still ride and after a few minutes I was tutoring them on free mounting and some tricks.

I really liked the 24" wheel from the 20" that I had only ever ridden. It wouldn’t be easy for me to find all the different sizes to try out and there are so many sizes right up to 36" now.

I’m not looking for a commuting unicycle, but something that I could still use off road if I wanted or for some trials type unicycling. I am 6’ tall. I’m looking for a new unicycle, what would you all recommend for a size that would work for what I am looking for?

For trials unicycling you would need to stick to a smaller uni. For both trials and off road a 24" muni with a duro tyre might be a compromise. The duro makes a 24" wheel closer to a 26" road bike wheel and has a lot of bounce and roll over.

As the wheel size goes up, the agility goes down but a 26 or 29er muni are capable of much greater speed.

Most dedicated trials unicycles are 19" with a fat tyre. They can ride off road but are very slow.

For either muni or trials an isis hub is pretty much essential for an adult.

Also if the 20" is too small, there should be replacement seatposts available from unicycle.com that would fit it and bring the saddle higher.