Shin Guards

From reading the posts, it seems sensible to protect shins with guards, particularly as a complete beginner.

I have seen the Kris Holmes guards, but they are quite expensive.
Are there any cheaper options out there which would serve?
I looked at some local offers on Nike football guards which were great for £5 and very tough, but they only came 2/3 way up the shin.
Would this be enough?

Also, how important is protecting the rear of the lower leg?

I have “angry” pedals on my 26" since very begining and used shin guards from very first day (I have plenty holes in my shin already left from MTB rides/jumps).

For MTB I used Brand-X Knee-shin guards (ordered from CRC):

Now for unicycle I use Cope shin guards:

Mostly it is mental factor which give me more freedom and free my mind from thinking about shin damage (I still remember how hell painfull it is). Once riding without them (just 10 meter to the car carryng shins in my hand) UPD and deeply scratched my calf - i always wear protection… but… that was kinda remider :smiley:

So - I wear gloves, shin guards and helmet. That is best set for me.

Depending of pedals you can wear or not shinguards :roll_eyes:

That was filling right after learning :smiley:

wrist guards

In a similar vein (sorry) - Do you think it advisable for a beginner to wear wrist guards?

If so I have seen some reasonably priced Pro-Tec’s, which I think have removeable splints, and will give some protection.
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/PROTEC-Wrist-Guards-Snowboard-Protection-IPS-Camo-/370623272401?var=#vi-content
I am not planning any big jumps or big hills, I just want to do some flattish forest/trail riding for the exercise.
Any opinions on these or others very welcome.

Yes your wrists are at the biggest risk, I use gloves with splints built into them and wear KH leg armour and a helmet.