Seat twist problem

Dear All,

I am fairly new to unicycling but feel I am progressing well, can
almost turn both ways, free mount and ride round the block.

My saddle is constantly getting twisted whilst turning and dismounting
which I have been finding very irritating. It’s a fairly inexpensive
unicycle with a separate pressed steel seat clamp.

I have tried tightening up the seat clamp as tight as I can, but the
seatpost still twists. Apart from drilling a hole through both the fork
‘steerer tube’ and the seat post and passing a bolt through I don’t
know what else I can do.

Any ideas?

Cheers!

Nick

measure your tube(s) and go to a bike shop and buy a good sturdy clamp. i recommend a solid double bolt like a primo.

put some fine dirt on it… rub it all over and that should increase the friction on the seat post and the frame. hope that helps=)

Welcome to the fora.

That’s one more of us and one less of them.
How long have you been riding?

I had the same problem and sorted it out by scuffing the surface of the seatpost with a hacksaw.
When the seat is skew, don’t just force it back into place. When you do that, you’re just ‘polishing’ the surfaces it skid on before. Loosen the seat, straighten and tighten. This is easier with a quick-release bracket.
Most commercial seatposts will have a ‘textured area’ to help prevent this problem.

Apart from limiting your abillity to adjust the seat-height, I can’t think of any reason why not to drop a bolt thru there. But I’m not the most technically minded one around here, you may want to wait for another couple of replies before you start drilling.

But considering your level of riding skill, shouldn’t you be thinking about upgrading your uni rather than worry about your seat…?

quick fix