Savage 5' Giraffe with United Seat

Since I just went through the process of buying a 5 foot Savage unicycle, I thought I would share my experience. I am a relative newbie to unicycling and I don’t have much technical knowledge about unicycles. I don’t tear them apart for fun, nor do I know the correct terminology for the parts. Still, some advice is better than none. Hopefully, people with more unicycling expertise will add to this thread so the next person looking to buy a giraffe won’t be working in the total dark like I was.

The FAQ at http://www.unicycling.org/unicycling/faq.html has very little advice about giraffes and is out of date. It has nothing on CyclePro, Savage, or Braun giraffes. A good review of giraffes would be helpful (hint, hint!).

First of all I posted to rec.sport.unicycling asking for advice:

I need some advice on on buying a 5’ giraffe.

After 2 months of fooling around with a 20" Torker, I am taken with the notion of riding a taller beast. However, I noticed that most giraffes are more expensive than the loose change I can find between the cushions of my couch.

As an impecunious grad student, I really don’t want to pay US$400 to $500 for something which is going to be my next big “toy”. Not that toys are bad, but I can’t justify spending that much money on something which is just a good study break.

After a search on the internet, I have found three giraffes within my budget:

-------Option 1-------------
Agee’s Bikes offers a CyclePro Action 20" with 5’ Chain Drive Unicycle @ $149.99 + $19.00 Shipping to continental US

picture: http://www.ageebike.com/unicycle.htm

No information is given about the uni, but it looks to be cheap construction, judging from the picture.

--------Option 2------------
BRAUN Giraffe 5-foot Unicycle costing US$152.39

Description: