RAW - Ride Across Washington

Here’s another fantasy that I would like to come true in the next 5 years:

Would anybody here be willing to do a Ride Across Washington in the foreseeable future? I could easily pick a route, get some hotels hooked up, and track the miles per day. I just need an ‘OK’ that at least 5+ people would do it. Here are some questions:

• How many miles per day is reasonabe?
  • How many of you could/would go?
  • Is it reasonable?
  • How many days is good for novice distance riders like most of us?
  • How many support cars do we need?
  • Would anybody here volunteer to be a support car?
  • Any other tips?

Thanks,
Tyler

I would TOTALLY do that…it’d be AWESOME!! I’m no expert on distance riding, but here’s my attempt at answering your questions…

• How many miles per day is reasonable?
    let’s say…10-20ish? 20 miles is around my furthest ride ever…well, actually I haven’t even quite gone 20. yeah.

• How many of you could/would go?
    me! me! me!

• Is it reasonable?
    heck yes it is

• How many days is good for novice distance riders like most of us?
    hrmm, got me there…

• How many support cars do we need?
    4? actually, I have no idea.

• Would anybody here volunteer to be a support car?
    I can’t drive.

• Any other tips?
    let’s do it!!
    oh, and also, make a minimum wheel size…I’m thinkin 28" at the very smallest, but 29" would be even better.

one more thing…T-shirts, registration fee, charity. wait, thats 3. but 3 things I advise (:

That’d take a long time to get across the state. Look at unitours.org to see what other tours have done. The typical tour is about 45 to 90 km a day.

aHA, you’re right…well like I said, I’m no expert on unitours. 45 km is about 27 miles, and 90 km is about 55 miles, which is definitely doable…I’m still up for it!!

wimps, do like 70 miles a day