Question from a newbie.

Hi I am new to the unicycle scene partly because of gas prices, fun, and it looks just plain fun! I have been reading the forums trying to find out what kind of a unicycle I should get as a beginner but I couldn’t find an adequate answer for what I am about to ask. Now I have pretty much made my decision of what Unicycle I will get but I don’t know what size wheel would be better for my needs. Now I don’t plan on doing tricks or anything soon I just want to be able to ride on it by riding around our neighborhood and to church. So the question is should I get the Torker LX 26" or 24"? Now I would look at some other unicycles but my income is very very low. My job is at a music store for only 4 -5 hours a week at $7 an hour lol. So what would you all recommend? I really just want to commute around the block.

In general, smaller wheels are easier to learn on and larger wheels are faster to ride on. Smaller is slower and more maneuverable. Larger is faster and more difficult to control. People usually learn on either a 20" or 24" wheel. Sometimes they learn on smaller wheels because their legs are too short for a 20" wheel. There are cases of people learning on wheels as large as 36" but this is extremely rare. Your inseam will in part dictate the size on which you will learn.

If you’re thinking about a 26" my guess is that your legs are long enough and you already know it. I would recommend the 24" because it will be easier to learn than the 26" and will be substantially faster and more versatile than a 20" wheel. This would be ideal for trips around the block and short errands.

The Torker LX is more than adequate for your expressed needs. Good luck and plan on spending 10-20 hours before you can ride a straight line for any appreciable distance with any repeatability.

Thankyou very much for your insight and help. Kind of reminds me of when I first started playing guitar the more practice the better and just practice practice practice.