Pedal Wobble?

I’ve been using a set of “NRG” pin pedals for a couple of months now on my commuter uni. Ok, I know I shouldn’t really be practicing all those hops and drops on the freestyle Sem XL but still I thought these sealed bearing pedals would hold up longer than they have.

Yesterday the left pedal started a disconcerting squeaking when ever I weighted it even slightly and then later in the ride it the pedal itself actually started to wobble on its spindle.

Last night I took the pedal apart, unscrewing the cap from the end and then the two nuts that held the cartridge to the spindle. Nothing seemed amiss so it put the bits back together and made sure everything was screwed in place snuggly.

This morning the same thing, squeak, squeak, wobble, wobble… it feels so weird to have the pedal moving beneath my foot … :frowning:

So I wonder if the pedal is just ‘wearing out’ or if it is somehow bent of just why the pedal body is moving on the spindle that screws into the crank.

any ideas…

Erin, on her way to get one of her sets of Wellgo B-37’s to put on the commuter uni instead of the wobbly NRG’s…

Some things to check:

Sealed pedals need grease on the spindle. Most sealed pedals spin on a single bearing at the far end of the spindle and a bushing at the end near the crank. The bushing needs grease under it on the spindle or else it may grind or squeak.

The end cap on the pedal is what holds the whole pedal together. It needs to be snug and screwed in all the way. Make sure the threads on the end cap and on the pedal body are clean (no grit in the threads). Put a little grease on the threads and tighten it up. If the end cap takes a hex key to tighten it then be careful no to round out the hex key hole. The end caps are usually made of aluminum and it is very easy to round out the hex key hole.