Pedal extenders

Hi All,
New guy here trying to learn how to ride. I have a Sun Flat Top Extreme.
I’d like to ask for advice on an issue with my pedals. Have a wide size 15 shoe.
The pedals just seem too small and narrow to get comfortable on. I want to put pedal extenders on the cranks. Are the pedal shaft diameters 9/16" like regular bicycles? Also can anyone recommend a nice big wide pedal? BMX pedals maybe?

Anyone else fix a problem like this with extenders and wider pedals?

Thanks so much. This is a great group on this forum!
Mark

I have no experience with extenders, but yep, most unicycle cranks use 9/16" pedal threads and they’re usually fitted with MTB/BMX platform pedals.

It seems like most platform pedals are actually manufactured by Wellgo. You can browse their designs here for inspiration. Sizes are included: http://en.wellgopedal.com/products_list_7.htm

Some of the bigger, platform pedals are pinned; I would not recommend pinned pedals for beginners. Some of the pins are, however, adjustable, and can perhaps be adjusted further into the body of the pedal. If the pins are plastic, they can be filed down.

My first unicycle was a Torker 24" LX, and before long I swapped the original pedals, which seemed small for my size 13 feet, for something larger. And I filed down the pins on the new pedals.

Smoother pedals are, I think, better for beginners whom haven’t learned to properly bail out off the pedals. However, some “type 2” UPDs (involving landing on more than your feet) are attributable to slipping off the pedals. You’ll just have to experiment.