Overcoming steep hills

I’ve been riding for a few years now but I’ve never gotten into distance or commuting because the geography where I live is very hilly. Any one of the hills here have me out of breath half way to the top leaving legs so sore that I can barely mount my unicycle.

Any tips to overcoming this. Does it get easier? Is there any shame in just walking up the hill?

Currently I’m running 125mm on my 29" road uni

I have to say that Hill climbing with a unicycle is one of the real attractions of unicycling for me.

I commute to work 15km, 3 times a week, on a KH36 with 110mm cranks and there is a hill that I always ride up (100m long with grade 10-13%) When I used to b*cycle, I rode around that hill as an obvious route.

There is something I like (love) about hill climbing. The feeling of leaning forward and lifting hard on the TBar to conquer the hill.

It definately takes practice, but for me falling off going uphill is less likely to cause injury than Muni down hilling, which I dabble in on the KH29.

1 Like

No shame, you do what you can. In my recent 75 mile day I rode this section and and ended up walking about 1/2 mile. I was riding a 36er with 109mm cranks. For shorter hills I can do 12% grades but longer grades I need a break or some walking.

5 Likes

It is a matter of building up to them.

After I learnt to ride I worked my way over the course of a few years through a series of hills on the 24 then the 26 then the 29 and finally on the 36. I got up to about 18% on all but the 36. At my peak I would come back from a 13 km ride with lots of hills and feel like I could go again.

After an extended break I took to riding the 26 again and even modest hills would leave me sore for several days. Now we have wonderful rail trail in my town and I indulge in its level terrain.

1 Like