Noob here, advice please?

Hi ive not really looked at unicycling before as i am a true mountian bike freerider (well almost) but the other day when passed a bike shop on the way to a skatepark there was a unicycle outside forsale at £50 it seemed just plain, there wasnt any makers logo on it or anything and i was wondering if its worth it and how much should one cost me? i want to try and use it for trials use as ive recently sold my 20" trials bike so it could be a cheaper alternative!

if you want to do trials than you should get a trials unicycle. Where are you loacted?

Hi.

Unicycling is a great sport, and very addictive. It is similar to mountainbiking or BMX in some ways, but incredibly different in other ways. If you search these forums, you will find links to videos of what can be achieved on a trials uni, and various stories about what adventures can be had on off road/cross country/mountain unicycles.

As for buying your first uni. Buy cheap, buy twice. The sort of uni you see languishing in the window of the local bike shop is usually not very good for anything except learning to ride on. You wouldn’t buy a $100 mountainbike and expect it to be as versatile as a good quality one. You can’t learn to play music on a cheap instrument. (Add similar examples of your own.:slight_smile: )

Far better to buy something from someone who knows about unicycles. Pay a bit extra and get a machine that makes you want to ride it.

Here’s a link to some food for thought:
http://www.unicycle.uk.com/Shop/